Skip to content

2014 Clarence John Laughlin Award Finalists

  • by
    The New Orleans Photo Alliance is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2013 Clarence John Laughlin Award.
Keliy Anderson-Staley, Houston TX Dulce
Baboon in Window
East Broadway, 7:02AM
Oaks, Paynes Prairie, FL
Marsh House Oak, Avery Island
The Rock
Water Snake
Littoral Drift #01 (Diptych, Tower Beach, SC 05.26.13, Tidal Pools, Dipped)
Old Elks Club
Rose Swimmer
Nocturnes 33
The Clarence John Laughlin Award was instituted by the New Orleans Photo Alliance in 2010 to support the  work of photographers who use photography as a means of creative expression. It honors the life and work of Clarence John Laughlin (1905-1985), a New Orleans photographer best known for his surrealist images of the American South. The Clarence John Laughlin Award grants one $5000 prize annually to a photographer whose work exhibits sustained artistic excellence and creative vision. 
For 2014, NOPA invited Del Zogg, the manager of Works on Paper & Photography Collections at The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston TX,  to  serve as juror.
 Past recipients of the award include: Walker Pickering (2013), Lee Deigaard (2012), Joni Sternbach (2011) and Charles Grogg (2010)
The winner will announced on November 1, 2014.