Skip to content

2015 Clarence John Laughlin Award Finalists

  • by

NOPA is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2015 Clarence John Laughlin Award. Carol McCusker, the CJL Award’s 2015 juror, selected ten finalists from 99 submissions.

The finalists are Adam Davies (Dist of Columbia), Lisa Elmaleh (West Virginia), Jaime Johnson (Mississppi), Molly Lamb (Massachusetts), Don Norris (Mississippi), Dorothy O’Connor (Georgia), Annu Palakunnathu Mathew (Rhode Island), Cheryle St. Onge (New Hampshire) Richard Tuschman (New York) Kimberly Witham (New Jersey).

Adam Davies – C & O Canal Lock 13, Carderock, MD
Jaime Johnson – Spine
Molly Lamb – Kept in a Prescription Bottle
Don Norris – Shaker Waterworks (1833),  Pleasant Hill, Kentucky
Dorothy O’Connor – Ceiling of Black Birds
Annu Palakunnathu Matthew – Memories of India – Roasting Peanuts
Cheryle St. Onge – untitled 18
Richard Tuschman – Pink Bedroom (Daydream)
Kimberly Witham – On Ripeness and Rot 16 (Fall Fruit)

The CJL Award recipient will be announced on October 15, 2015.

The Clarence John Laughlin Award was developed by the New Orleans Photo Alliance in 2010 to support the work of photographers who use the medium as a means of creative expression. It honors the life and work of Clarence John Laughlin (1905-1985), a New Orleans photographer best known for his surrealist images of the American South. The Clarence John Laughlin Award grants one $5000 prize annually to a photographer whose work exhibits sustained artistic excellence and creative vision.