Skip to content

Clarence John Laughlin Award Finalists Announced

  • by

The New Orleans Photo Alliance is pleased to announce the names of the 14 finalists for the 2013 Clarence John Laughlin Award.

Julie Anand and Damon Sauer (Phoenix AR) 
Julie Anand and Damon Sauer: Calibration Mark AD49
Jeremiah Ariaz (Baton Rouge LA)
Jeremiah Ariaz: Fact and Fiction-20

 JT Blatty (New Orleans LA)
JT Blatty: Fishtown #1
 Ben Depp (New Orleans LA)
Ben Depp
Benjamin Dimmitt (New York NY)
Benjamin Dimmitt: Upper Crawford Creek, Chassahowitzka N.W.R., FL
AnnieLaurie Erickson (New Orleans LA)
AnnieLaurie Erickson: 30°28.5.88N,91°12.37.73W (Port Allen)
Tommy Kha (Brooklyn NY)
Tommy Kha: Bart
 Tommy Matthews (Brookline MA)
Tommy Matthews: Before the Fall
Anne Arden McDonald (Brooklyn NY)
Anne Arden McDonald: Bouyancy
 Walker Pickering (Austin TX)
Walker Pickering: Bulb

 Jeff Rich (Savannah GA)
Jeff Rich: Coal Ash Spill

Saul Robbins (New York NY)
Saul Robbins: New York City -1104151
Krista Steinke (Cypress TX)
Krista Steinke: Frog

Paul Thulin (Richmond VA)

Paul Thulin: Grave of Abelard

The Clarence John Laughlin Award was instituted by the New Orleans Photo Alliance in 2010 to support the work of photographers who use the medium as a means of creative expression. It honors the life and work of Clarence John Laughlin (1905-1985), a New Orleans photographer best known for his surrealist images of the American South. The Clarence John Laughlin Award grants one $5000 prize annually to a photographer whose work exhibits sustained artistic excellence and creative vision.

Russell Lord, the Freeman Family Curator of Photographs at the New Orleans Museum of Art, is the 2013 juror. The 134 submissions were prescreened by Arthur Roger, of Arthur Roger Gallery, Victoria Ryan, and Crista Dix of Wallspace Gallery, who narrowed the entries down to 100 portfolios. From these, Mr. Lord selected 14 finalists whose work he will view in print form and select a single winner.

The New Orleans Photo Alliance will announce the 2013 Clarence John Laughlin Award recipient on October 1, 2013.