Skip to content

Congrats Michel: Twenty-one $25,000 Commissions Awarded

The Arts Council of New Orleans and the Joan Mitchell Foundation are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2008 New Orleans Art in Public Places Commissions:

Frank Alessandrini
Barry Bailey
Ryan Ballard
Raine Bedsole
Lou Blackwell
Marcus Brown
Christopher Scott Brumfield
Catherine Burke
“Generic Art Solutions”: Tony Campbell and Matt Vis
Eric Dallimore
Dawn DeDeaux
Paul Deo
Rashida Ferdinand
Mitchell Gaudet and Erika Larken
Shannon Landis Hansen
Sally Heller
Alex Podesta
Christopher Saucedo
Cynthia Scott and Damon Rosenzweig
Jim Sohr
Michel Varisco

In collaboration with the Joan Mitchell Foundation, and an independent jury, the Arts Council selected twenty-one public art projects designed specifically by local artists for the city of New Orleans. Artists will receive $25,000 to create artwork to be placed in the public venue and help with rebuilding their artistic careers.

Artists from Louisiana and Mississippi who were affected by Katrina or Rita were eligible to apply through a Call to Artists advertised by the Arts Council of New Orleans. The Call to Artists was initially for ten commissions, but due to the extraordinary response, the artistic diversity and the high quality of the proposals, twenty-one commissions funded by the Joan Mitchell Foundation were awarded.

The commissions provide the opportunity for local and regional artists to showcase their work parallel to the international exhibits: Prospect One International Biennial and Sculpture for New Orleans. Projects will be installed beginning in October 2008.