Skip to content

First Hearst 8 X 10 Photography Biennial Competition

  • by

Distinguished panel of judges to include
Donna Karan, Mary Ellen Mark, Steve McCurry, Timothy Greenfield-Sanders,
Peter Lindbergh, David Granger, Virginia Heckert & Charles Stainback

New York – September 15, 2008 – Hearst Corporation today announced an international biennial competition to recognize and showcase the professional work of talented young photographers. Hearst 8 X 10 Photography Biennial will recognize eight winners and feature their work in two exhibition spaces in the atrium of Lord Norman Foster’s Hearst Tower, the company’s acclaimed New York City headquarters. Both the newly-named Alexey Brodovitch* Gallery and the Hearst Gallery will showcase approximately 100 photographs beginning in April 2009 through the end of the year. Hearst will publish both digital and print catalogues showcasing works chosen by 10 judges composed of editors, creative directors, curators, and renowned photographers.

Hearst Corporation has a distinguished legacy of working with legendary photographers dating from the earliest days of its magazine and newspaper publishing, including Slim Aarons, Diane Arbus, Richard Avedon, Lillian Bassman, Robert Frank, Lee Friedlander, Philippe Halsman, Martin Munkacsi and today’s contemporary masters.

“Hearst has a history of working with pioneers, award winners and rule breakers in the fields of photography, and we take pride in our editors’ and creative directors’ keen interest in identifying and promoting the work of the next generation of rising young talents,” said Frank A. Bennack, Jr., vice chairman and CEO, Hearst Corporation. “Our editors and creative talent, working with some of the world’s most talented contemporary names in the field of photography, are in a position to open doors for the emerging talent that will play an important role in the future of magazines, media, the Web and the worlds of design and photography.”

Hearst 8 X 10 Photography Biennial will be open to photographers who have at least two years of professional experience, both in the United States and abroad. Opening date for entries is September 15, 2008. All entries must be e-mailed or postmarked no later than January 1, 2009. Additional information and submission guidelines can be found at Winners will be announced on March 1, 2009.

Ten judges, half of which include leading photographers and museum curators, will review all entries and select the eight award recipients. They include:
* John A. Bennette, III, curator/writer
* Judith Bookbinder, vice president, creative communications, Hearst Magazines
* David Granger, editor-in-chief, Esquire
* Timothy Greenfield-Sanders, photographer
* Virginia Heckert, associate curator of photographs, J. Paul Getty Museum
* Donna Karan, designer and collector
* Peter Lindbergh, photographer
* Mary Ellen Mark, photographer
* Steve McCurry, photographer
* Charles Stainback, curator of photography, Norton Museum of Art

Hearst Corporation is one of the nation’s largest diversified media companies. Its major interests include ownership of 16 daily and 49 weekly newspapers, including the Houston Chronicle, San Francisco Chronicle and Albany Times Union; as well as interests in an additional 43 daily and 72 non-daily newspapers owned by MediaNews Group, which include the Denver Post and Salt Lake Tribune; nearly 200 magazines around the world, including Cosmopolitan and O, The Oprah Magazine; 29 television stations through Hearst-Argyle Television (NYSE:HTV) which reach a combined 18% of U.S. viewers; ownership in leading cable networks, including Lifetime, A&E, History and ESPN; as well as business publishing, including a minority joint venture interest in Fitch Ratings; Internet businesses, television production, newspaper features distribution and real estate.