Skip to content

Michael P. Smith Fund’s Grant finalists

  • by

The 2009 FINALISTS for the Michael P. Smith Fund’s Grant for Documentary Photography are:

Shannon Brinkman (LA)
Syndey Byrd (LA)
Jenny Ellerbe (LA)
Philip Gould (LA)
Deborah Luster (LA)
David Rae Morris (LA)
Lance Rosenfield (TX)
Jonathan Traviesa (LA)
David Wharton (MS)
Jennifer Zdon (LA)

The preliminary selection panel met at the NOPA Gallery October 11th in New Orleans. The three members of the panel were: Roy Flukinger, Chandra McCormick, Kevin Miller.

The NOPA grant committee received 40 applications for the grant. The geographic breakdown of entries was:

Louisiana 27 entries (18 from New Orleans)
Texas 7 entries
Mississippi 3 entries
Florida 3 entries
Alabama 0 entries

Jeff Rosenheim, Curator in the Department of Photographs at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, is the inaugural juror for the MPS Fund grant. He will be considering the proposals and portfolios of our finalists this month to select our 2009 grant recipient. We will announce the grant recipient at the PhotoNOLA Gala, December 10th.